Self-tanning waterproof patches promise a hands-off way to add a sunless glow, but the options here vary more by patch format and quantity than by clearly documented water resistance or tanning performance. My best overall pick is PurevLab Sun-Free Glow Micro-Tip Self-Tanning Patches, 28 Pieces, since its larger pack offers more flexibility for repeated applications than the small-count options. The PurevLab five-box set stands out for stocking up, while the 10-piece face-and-body set is the more adaptable choice for shoppers who want one pack for different areas. The main tradeoffs are pack size, intended placement, and how much confidence you can place in waterproof claims that may not specify wear time or testing. Read on for the full breakdown and a guide to choosing a patch format that fits your routine.
Get beauty and skincare favorites delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Pack size is the clearest differentiator: PurevLab’s 28-piece option and five-box set offer more patches for repeated use than the single- and two-count listings.
- Micro-tip and microdart naming appears across many listings, so the product title alone does not establish a meaningful difference in tanning strength, wear time, or water resistance.
- The 10-piece face-and-body listing has the most explicit placement flexibility; shoppers focused on a particular area should check the product directions before choosing it over body-oriented options.
- Small packs such as Hiskin’s two-count option suit cautious first purchases, but provide less room for repeat applications or coverage experiments.
- Waterproof performance is not clearly comparable from the supplied product details, so I rank around pack utility and stated use rather than treating the waterproof label as proof of swimming- or shower-ready wear.
| PurevLab Sun-Free Glow Micro-Tip Self-Tanning Patches, 28 Pieces | ![]() | Best Overall | Quantity: 28 patches | Application time: 4–6 hours | Color development: Gradual; peak color in 1–3 days | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sunless Tanning Patches for Body, 7 Count | ![]() | Best for Ingredient Transparency | Count: 7 patches | Active ingredients: DHA and erythrulose | Wear time: 2–6 hours per application | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| PurevLab Sun-Free Glow Patch for Women & Men – Round Micro‑Tip Self‑Tanning Patches (5 Boxes) | ![]() | Best Multi-Box Set | Quantity: 5 boxes; patch count per box not specified | Technology: Microdarts delivery system | Patch type: Round micro-tip self-tanning patch | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Transdermal Tanning Patches Self Tanner – Sunless Instant Bronze Patch, Natural Tanning Stickers for Body (4, 7 Pcs) | ![]() | Best for Individual Portability | Quantity: 4 or 7 patches | Application time: 4–6 hours | Material: Ultra-thin, breathable | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 14PCS Tanning Patches Sunless Self Tanner Strips Micro-Tip | ![]() | Best Mid-Size Supply | Quantity: 14 pieces | Patch type: Micro-tip strips | Application time: 4–6 hours | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| GOORA Sun-Free Glow Microdart Tanning Patches | ![]() | Best for a Simple Routine | Product type: Sunless tanning patches | Technology: Microdart patch delivery | Application: Peel and place on clean, dry skin | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| OLNUTIEXL Sunless Self-Tanning Microdart Patches, 3-Box Set | ![]() | Best for Repeat Applications | Quantity: 21 patches in 3 boxes | Patches per box: 7 | Patch diameter: Approximately 5 cm (1.97 inches) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sun Free Glow Self-Tanning Patches for Face and Body, 10 Pieces | ![]() | Best for Multi-Area Use | Quantity: 10 pieces | Application areas: Face, arms, legs, and shoulders | Tanning method: Sunless patches | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sun-Free Glow Microdart Tanning Patches, 2 Boxes | ![]() | Best for a Stated Wear-Time Range | Packaging: 2 boxes | Pack contents: 7 round patches | Application time: 2–6 hours | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sun-Free Glow Microdart Tanning Patches, 1 Box | ![]() | Best for Trying a Single Box | Product type: Sunless tanning patches | Patch style: Microdart | Packaging: 1 box; patches described as individually packed | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| LXIANGN Sun-Free Glow Patches – 7 Pieces, Suitable for All Skin Types | ![]() | Best for Quick Results | Package quantity: 7 patches | Suitable skin types: All skin types | UV exposure: No sun exposure required | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sunless Natural Glow Tanning Microdart Patches, 2 Boxes, 20 Pieces | ![]() | Best Value for Frequent Applications | Product type: Sunless tanning patches | Package quantity: 20 patches | Packaging: 2 boxes | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 7pcs Tanning Patches – Sun-Free Glow Micro‑Tip Self Tanner Strips | ![]() | Best for Long-Lasting Gradual Color | Package quantity: 7 patches | Application time: 4–6 hours per use | Color development: Gradual; peaks on days 1–3 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sunless Glow Tanning Patches | ![]() | Best for Buildable Coverage | Application time: 4–6 hours | Color development: Gradual; peak color in 1–3 days | Claimed tan duration: 7–12 days; also claims up to 14 days | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Hiskin Sunless Natural Glow Tanning Microdarts Patch (2 Count) | ![]() | Best Compact Travel Pick | Package quantity: 2 patches | Application type: Transdermal self-tanning patch | Design: Ultra-thin and portable | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
More Details on Our Top Picks
PurevLab Sun-Free Glow Micro-Tip Self-Tanning Patches, 28 Pieces
The 28-patch supply makes this the most practical pick here for maintaining a gradual tan rather than trying patches once. Wear them for 4–6 hours; the color builds over 1–3 days and is reported to last about 7–13 days. Face-and-body suitability gives it more flexibility than the Sunless Tanning Patches for Body, 7 Count, which are positioned for targeted body use and offer a smaller supply. Moisturizing ingredients and the claimed lack of clothing residue may appeal to anyone wary of messy lotions, but those claims don’t establish how well patches hold up to water. This roundup has no verified waterproof-use details, so I wouldn’t choose this—or any other option here—for swimming or frequent showering. The tradeoff is delayed color, several hours of wear, and repeat applications every 2–6 days.
Pros:- 28 patches provide more supply than the seven-count Sunless Tanning Patches for Body.
- Designed for use on the face and multiple body areas.
- Gradual development can help users build color rather than apply it all at once.
- Moisturizing ingredients are intended to help skin feel soft.
Cons:- Color may take 1–3 days to reach its peak.
- Requires 4–6 hours of wear and reapplication every 2–6 days.
- Showering and friction may affect results; waterproof performance is not specified.
Best for: Buyers seeking a larger supply for gradual face-and-body color who can plan around several hours of wear.
Not ideal for: Swimmers or anyone who needs proven water resistance, immediate color, or a tan without repeat applications.
- Quantity:28 patches
- Application time:4–6 hours
- Color development:Gradual; peak color in 1–3 days
- Reported duration:Approximately 7–13 days
- Reapplication:Every 2–6 days
- Suitable areas:Face, neck, arms, legs, and body
- Skin compatibility:Most skin types
Our verdict“Choose this for a larger, gradual face-and-body patch supply, but skip it if waterproof performance or fast color is a requirement.”
Sunless Tanning Patches for Body, 7 Count
DHA and erythrulose are named as the active ingredients, giving this seven-patch option clearer formula information than the Transdermal Tanning Patches Self Tanner, whose supplied details focus on material and wear time. Its 2–6-hour wear window and thin, vegan format suit targeted body application at home or while traveling, without the handling of lotions or sprays. Color may become more visible around days 2–3, so this is a gradual-build choice, not a shortcut to an immediate bronze. Compared with PurevLab’s 28-piece micro-tip set, the smaller count is easier to pack but less suited to ongoing full-body maintenance. The product is described as mess-free and thin under clothing, but no water-resistance testing or waterproof instructions are supplied; I wouldn’t rely on it for swimming.
Pros:- Names DHA and erythrulose as active ingredients.
- Vegan formula and thin patches are designed for convenient travel use.
- Avoids applying tanning lotion or spray directly.
- Gradual development allows color to build with repeated use.
Cons:- Only seven patches are included, limiting ongoing or broad coverage.
- Color may take 2–3 days to become more visible and requires repeat applications.
- No waterproof performance details are provided.
Best for: Travelers or ingredient-conscious buyers who want a small vegan patch set for gradual, targeted body color.
Not ideal for: People seeking face coverage, a large maintenance supply, immediate results, or documented waterproof wear.
- Count:7 patches
- Active ingredients:DHA and erythrulose
- Wear time:2–6 hours per application
- Recommended reapplication:Every 2–5 days
- Color development:May become more visible around days 2–3 with consistent use
- Formula:Vegan
- Application:Clean, dry skin
Our verdict“Pick this compact, vegan body set if named actives matter more than a large supply or verified water resistance.”
PurevLab Sun-Free Glow Patch for Women & Men – Round Micro‑Tip Self‑Tanning Patches (5 Boxes)
Five boxes give this set a bulk-buy role that stands apart from the single 28-piece PurevLab pack and the seven-count Sunless Tanning Patches for Body. Its distinguishing feature is a microdarts delivery system, described as helping the hydrating self-tanner absorb quickly; the supplied details, however, don’t state wear time, color-development timing, duration, or a patch count per box. That missing information makes it harder to plan applications than with PurevLab’s 28-piece pack, which lists a 4–6-hour wear period and gradual development. The round patches are described as mess-free and travel-friendly, but repeated use depends on applying them to clean, dry skin. It’s presented for all skin types, yet sensitive-skin suitability is a product claim rather than a guarantee for every user. No waterproof performance is specified.
Pros:- Five-box set suits buyers who want multiple boxes in one purchase.
- Microdarts delivery is described as supporting fast absorption.
- Hydrating, skin-nourishing formula is designed to keep skin soft.
- Mess-free design is presented as travel-friendly and suitable for women and men.
Cons:- Patch count per box is not specified in the supplied product data.
- Wear time, color timing, and reported tan duration are not provided.
- Waterproof performance is not stated, and application calls for clean, dry skin.
Best for: Buyers who prefer purchasing multiple boxes at once and want a microdart patch described for a range of skin types.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who need an exact patch count, clear wear and result timings, or confirmed waterproof use before buying.
- Quantity:5 boxes; patch count per box not specified
- Technology:Microdarts delivery system
- Patch type:Round micro-tip self-tanning patch
- Suitable users:Women and men
- Skin types:Described for sensitive, dry, oily, and combination skin
- Formula:Hydrating and skin-nourishing
- Application:Apply to clean, dry skin
Our verdict“Choose this multi-box set if the microdart format and bulk supply appeal, but favor a more fully specified option if timing or water resistance guides your choice.”
Transdermal Tanning Patches Self Tanner – Sunless Instant Bronze Patch, Natural Tanning Stickers for Body (4, 7 Pcs)
Individually sealed patches make this a convenient option for carrying a few applications separately, a useful distinction from the bulk-oriented PurevLab Sun-Free Glow Patch (5 Boxes). The ultra-thin, breathable material and peel-and-stick application are aimed at comfortable body wear, while the listed 4–6-hour application time means it still calls for planning rather than a quick color boost. The product is offered in a four- or seven-patch quantity, so buyers should check which count they are selecting; the supplied data doesn’t clarify whether both are included. It is described as suitable for all skin types, though the product also cautions that very sensitive skin may not suit it. Despite “waterproof” in this roundup’s subject, no waterproof performance is provided, and an even result still depends on correct placement and individual skin response.
Pros:- Individually sealed patches are convenient to carry and store.
- Ultra-thin, breathable material is designed for comfortable wear.
- Peel-and-stick application avoids handling lotion or spray.
- Described as suitable for all skin types, with a sensitivity caveat.
Cons:- Available quantity is listed as four or seven patches, without clarifying the selected pack.
- Requires 4–6 hours of wear for the stated effect.
- No waterproof details are supplied, and very sensitive skin may not suit it.
Best for: People who want individually sealed body patches for occasional use or easy packing, and can confirm the pack size before ordering.
Not ideal for: Very sensitive-skin users, buyers needing a clearly specified large supply, or anyone requiring proven water resistance.
- Quantity:4 or 7 patches
- Application time:4–6 hours
- Material:Ultra-thin, breathable
- Skin type:Described as suitable for all skin types; very sensitive skin may not suit it
- Application:Peel-and-stick
- Packaging:Individually sealed
- Use:Body
Our verdict“Choose it for individually wrapped, portable applications if you can verify the pack count; skip it if water resistance is non-negotiable.”
14PCS Tanning Patches Sunless Self Tanner Strips Micro-Tip
Fourteen patches place this micro-tip set between the seven-count Sunless Tanning Patches for Body and PurevLab’s 28-piece pack: enough to try a routine or maintain a smaller-area tan, without committing to the largest supply. The listed 4–6-hour wear time, gradual color over 1–3 days, and reported 7–13-day duration give buyers a clearer schedule than the five-box PurevLab set, whose supplied details omit timing. It is described for face and body and includes moisturizing ingredients, while claims of no artificial dyes or clothing residue may appeal to people avoiding messy formulas. The tradeoff is patience and upkeep: reapplication is recommended every 2–6 days, and development is not immediate. Showering and friction may alter results; there is no supplied proof that these patches are waterproof.
Pros:- 14-piece count sits between the seven-patch body set and 28-piece PurevLab option.
- Lists wear time, gradual development, reported duration, and reapplication guidance.
- Designed for face, neck, arms, legs, and full-body use.
- Moisturizing ingredients are included, with no artificial dyes claimed.
Cons:- Color develops gradually and may take 1–3 days to peak.
- Requires 4–6 hours of wear and repeat applications every 2–6 days.
- Waterproof performance is not specified; showering and friction may affect results.
Best for: First-time patch users or smaller households wanting a moderate face-and-body supply with stated wear and development timings.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing a quick tan, verified waterproof wear, or enough patches for extended full-body maintenance.
- Quantity:14 pieces
- Patch type:Micro-tip strips
- Application time:4–6 hours
- Color development:Gradual; develops over 1–3 days
- Reported duration:Approximately 7–13 days
- Reapplication:Every 2–6 days
- Suitable areas:Face, neck, arms, legs, and full body
- Skin types:Most skin types
- Formula claims:Moisturizing ingredients; no artificial dyes or residue claimed
Our verdict“Choose this mid-size set for clearly stated face-and-body use and gradual upkeep, but not for immediate or proven waterproof tanning.”
GOORA Sun-Free Glow Microdart Tanning Patches
GOORA’s main advantage is its straightforward application: peel a patch and place it on clean, dry skin, rather than spreading a tanning product by hand. Its microdart delivery and moisturizing formula are presented as a way to support a natural-looking, streak-free glow, though the product details do not give an application duration or explain how quickly color develops. Compared with OLNUTIEXL’s 21-patch set, GOORA is less explicit about quantity and ingredients, so it is harder to plan repeated applications. It does claim suitability for all skin types and for women and men, which broadens its appeal. I’d choose it for a low-mess format, but skip it if you need clear timing or ingredient details before buying.
Pros:- Peel-and-place application avoids spreading creams or sprays by hand
- Microdart delivery is designed for sunless tanning
- Hydrating formula is described as moisturizing
- Lightweight format is suited to travel
Cons:- No application duration or color-development time is provided
- The supplied product data does not state the patch count
- No ingredient list is provided to evaluate the formula
Best for: Shoppers who want a portable, no-spread tanning format and are comfortable with limited detail about timing and ingredients
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated wear time, ingredient list, or patch count to plan a tanning routine
- Product type:Sunless tanning patches
- Technology:Microdart patch delivery
- Application:Peel and place on clean, dry skin
- Intended use:Sunless tanning
- Skin types:All skin types, as stated
- Suitable for:Women and men
- Formula benefit:Designed to moisturize skin
Our verdict“Choose GOORA if you value a simple, travel-friendly patch routine more than detailed instructions or formula transparency.”
OLNUTIEXL Sunless Self-Tanning Microdart Patches, 3-Box Set
OLNUTIEXL is the clearest pick for planned repeat use in this group: the set specifies 21 patches across three boxes, with a four-to-six-hour wear window. Its DHA and erythrulose formula is described as producing gradual sunless color, while glycerin and other listed ingredients add useful formula detail absent from GOORA’s microdart patches. That extra clarity comes with a practical constraint: patches need to stay in place for hours, and the suggested application area must be hairless. The approximately five-centimeter round patches may also limit where they fit comfortably. Compared with Sun Free Glow’s 10-piece face-and-body pack, OLNUTIEXL gives more precise timing and a larger stated quantity, but less flexibility for buyers who want a quick application or instructions for varied body areas.
Pros:- Specifies 21 patches divided among three boxes
- Provides a four-to-six-hour application window
- Lists DHA, erythrulose, and supporting ingredients
- Patch format avoids spreading lotion or mousse by hand
Cons:- Requires patches to remain in place for four to six hours
- The application area needs to be hairless
- Round patches may not suit every placement area
Best for: People planning repeated sunless applications who want a stated patch count, wear time, and ingredient list
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a quick treatment, or those who cannot use a hairless application area and keep a patch in place for several hours
- Quantity:21 patches in 3 boxes
- Patches per box:7
- Patch diameter:Approximately 5 cm (1.97 inches)
- Application time:4–6 hours
- Key tanning ingredients:Dihydroxyacetone and erythrulose
- Other listed ingredients:Glycerin, allantoin, mineral oil, beeswax, petrolatum
- Application surface:Clean, dry, hairless skin
Our verdict“Pick OLNUTIEXL if you want a defined multi-application supply and can accommodate its long wear time and hairless-skin requirement.”
Sun Free Glow Self-Tanning Patches for Face and Body, 10 Pieces
This 10-piece pack stands out for its stated face-and-body use, with arms, legs, and shoulders also named as application areas. That gives it a broader placement brief than OLNUTIEXL’s round patches, whose supplied details focus more on timing, ingredients, and a hairless application area. Sun Free Glow claims gradual color along with hydration and skin smoothing, but the information does not identify ingredients or say how long patches should stay on. That makes it harder to judge formula suitability or schedule an application. Compared with GOORA’s microdart option, it offers a stated quantity and more specific body-area guidance, but gives less technical detail about delivery. I’d treat it as a flexible-format choice, not the most transparent option in the lineup.
Pros:- States a 10-piece quantity
- Names face, arms, legs, and shoulders as application areas
- Does not require sun exposure
- Portable patch format is intended to avoid messy application
Cons:- No application instructions or wear duration are provided
- No color-development time is stated
- Ingredient and result claims are not independently verified in the supplied product information
Best for: Shoppers who want a stated 10-piece supply and a product described for both facial and body application
Not ideal for: Buyers who need ingredient transparency or a specific wear and development schedule before applying a tanning product
- Quantity:10 pieces
- Application areas:Face, arms, legs, and shoulders
- Tanning method:Sunless patches
- Sun exposure:Not required
- Claimed tanning effect:Gradual, natural-looking bronze tan
- Claimed skin benefits:Hydration and skin smoothing
Our verdict“Choose this pack for its stated face-and-body placement options, but pass if you need clear timing or ingredient information.”
Sun-Free Glow Microdart Tanning Patches, 2 Boxes
The useful distinction here is its stated two-to-six-hour wear range, which gives buyers more scheduling guidance than Sun Free Glow’s 10-piece face-and-body pack, whose product data gives no timing. This two-box option is also described as vegan and requiring no UV exposure, with a compact format aimed at travel and everyday use. However, the supplied details say the pack contains seven round patches without making clear how those patches are divided between the two boxes. Its broad time range may leave buyers unsure which duration suits their routine, and results can vary by skin type. Compared with OLNUTIEXL’s 21-piece set, it is less explicit about total supply and ingredients, but its shorter minimum wear time may suit people with less room in their schedule.
Pros:- Provides a two-to-six-hour application range
- Requires no UV exposure
- Described as vegan
- Compact patch format is suited to travel
Cons:- The seven-patch total is not clearly allocated between the two boxes
- A broad wear-time range gives limited guidance on choosing a duration
- Results may vary by skin type
Best for: Travelers and routine-minded buyers who want a vegan patch option with a stated, flexible wear-time range
Not ideal for: People who need a precise color-development schedule, a clearly detailed box-by-box count, or predictable results across skin types
- Packaging:2 boxes
- Pack contents:7 round patches
- Application time:2–6 hours
- Formula:Vegan
- UV exposure:Not required
- Intended use:Gradual sunless tanning
- Use format:Portable patches for travel and everyday use
Our verdict“Choose this option if a vegan, travel-friendly patch with a stated wear-time range fits your routine, and accept that the timing remains broad.”
Sun-Free Glow Microdart Tanning Patches, 1 Box
This one-box version makes the most sense for buyers who want a smaller stated commitment before choosing a larger supply. The description highlights individually packed, lightweight patches and no need for UV exposure, which suits travel better than a bulky bottle of tanning lotion. But the product data does not state a patch count, list ingredients, or explain how to apply the patches. That leaves more unanswered questions than OLNUTIEXL’s 3-box set, which provides a count, ingredients, and a four-to-six-hour wear period. It is also less informative than Sun-Free Glow’s 2-box option, which at least gives a two-to-six-hour range. I’d favor this only when individual packaging and a single-box format matter more than knowing the routine or substantiation behind the glow claim.
Pros:- Single-box format suits shoppers who do not want a multi-box set
- Individually packed patches are convenient for travel
- Lightweight and described as invisible
- No UV exposure is required
Cons:- Patch count is not stated in the supplied product details
- Ingredients and specific application instructions are not provided
- The claimed glow results are not substantiated in the description
Best for: Travelers or first-time patch shoppers who prefer individually packed patches and want to start with one box
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated patch count, clear application instructions, or an ingredient list before purchasing
- Product type:Sunless tanning patches
- Patch style:Microdart
- Packaging:1 box; patches described as individually packed
- UV exposure:None required
- Intended use:Everyday wear and travel
- Skin types:All skin types, as stated
- Patch weight and visibility:Described as lightweight and invisible
Our verdict“Consider this one-box option if portability and individual packaging are your priorities, but choose a more fully documented set for a planned routine.”
LXIANGN Sun-Free Glow Patches – 7 Pieces, Suitable for All Skin Types
LXIANGN suits shoppers who want a patch-based glow without UV exposure and value a relatively quick development window: its description says a visible tan can appear within a few hours. The vegan, low-irritation formula is also described as hydrating and suitable for all skin types, which may appeal to people wary of a drying finish. Compared with PurevLab Sun-Free Glow Micro-Tip Self Tanner Strips, which give a more specific 1–3-day color peak and 7–13-day duration, LXIANGN offers less guidance about how long its color lasts. Its main limitation is coverage: seven patches may not stretch across the whole body, and the glow is not instant. The listing does not provide wear time or waterproof performance details, so I would not choose it specifically for swimming or prolonged water exposure.
Pros:- Provides a sunless tanning option without UV exposure
- Described as producing visible color within a few hours
- Vegan, low-irritation formula is presented as suitable for all skin types
- Hydrating formula may help avoid a dry-feeling finish
Cons:- Seven patches may be insufficient for full-body coverage
- Color takes hours to develop rather than appearing immediately
- No wear-time, waterproof, or tan-duration details are provided
Best for: Shoppers seeking a sunless patch with a stated glow-in-hours timeline for targeted areas, rather than guaranteed full-body coverage
Not ideal for: Buyers who need documented waterproof wear, a clear tan-duration estimate, or enough patches for full-body application
- Package quantity:7 patches
- Suitable skin types:All skin types
- UV exposure:No sun exposure required
- Color timing:Visible glow within a few hours, according to the description
- Formula claims:Vegan and low-irritation
- Hydration:Described as hydrating and nourishing
- Waterproof performance:Not specified
Our verdict“Choose LXIANGN for a quick-developing, targeted sunless glow, but skip it if you need full-body coverage or verified water resistance.”
Sunless Natural Glow Tanning Microdart Patches, 2 Boxes, 20 Pieces
Twenty peel-and-stick patches across two boxes make this the coverage-minded choice in this group, especially for someone who wants to apply patches to both face and body over repeated sessions. The product promises a gradual, even glow without UV exposure and says it leaves no sticky residue. Compared with Hiskin Sunless Natural Glow Tanning Microdarts Patch, which includes only two patches and emphasizes a thin, portable design, this set is better suited to keeping a larger supply on hand. The tradeoff is limited practical detail: there is no stated application duration or color-development timeline, and no ingredient list is provided. It is described as gentle for sensitive skin, but that claim is harder to evaluate without ingredients. Waterproof wear is not documented, so I would not treat it as a swimming-ready option.
Pros:- Includes 20 patches split between two boxes
- Designed for both face and body use
- Peel-and-stick application is portable and straightforward
- Described as gradual, even, and residue-free
Cons:- No application duration or color-development timeline is supplied
- No ingredient list is provided for shoppers checking sensitivities
- Water resistance and performance during swimming are not specified
Best for: People planning repeated face-and-body applications who want a larger patch supply and simple peel-and-stick use
Not ideal for: Ingredient-conscious shoppers, people who need a predictable development schedule, or anyone specifically seeking proven waterproof patches
- Product type:Sunless tanning patches
- Package quantity:20 patches
- Packaging:2 boxes
- Application:Peel and stick
- Intended areas:Face and body
- UV exposure:No UV exposure required
- Color development:Gradual; timing not specified
- Waterproof performance:Not specified
Our verdict“Pick this set for a generous supply and face-and-body flexibility, but choose a better-documented option if timing or ingredients matter.”
7pcs Tanning Patches – Sun-Free Glow Micro‑Tip Self Tanner Strips
PurevLab is the clearest pick for shoppers who prefer a gradual tan with a stated wear window. The listing gives a 4–6-hour application, says color peaks over days 1–3, and estimates the tan may last 7–13 days. That detail makes planning easier than with Sunless Natural Glow Tanning Microdart Patches, which does not provide an application or development timeline. The micro-tip strips are described for face and body, with moisturizing ingredients and a streak-free finish. In exchange for that slower build, this is not an immediate-color option; the listing also says reapplication may be needed every 2–6 days to maintain the desired shade, which sits alongside its longer duration claim. The product information does not establish waterproof performance, so water exposure should not be assumed to leave the result unchanged.
Pros:- Provides a stated 4–6-hour application window and 1–3-day color peak
- Claims a 7–13-day tan duration
- Designed for face and body use
- Moisturizing ingredients and a streak-free finish are claimed
Cons:- Color develops gradually rather than appearing immediately
- May require reapplication every 2–6 days to maintain the preferred shade
- Waterproof performance is not specified
Best for: Planners who want a gradual face-and-body tan and prefer having an application window and estimated color duration
Not ideal for: Anyone needing an instant tan, unwilling to wear patches for several hours, or looking for confirmed waterproof performance
- Package quantity:7 patches
- Application time:4–6 hours per use
- Color development:Gradual; peaks on days 1–3
- Claimed tan duration:Approximately 7–13 days
- Reapplication:Every 2–6 days to maintain desired shade
- Intended areas:Face, neck, arms, legs, and full body
- Skin compatibility:Most skin types
- Waterproof performance:Not specified
Our verdict“Choose PurevLab if you can wait for gradual color and value a stated duration, but not if you need an immediate or water-tested tan.”
Sunless Glow Tanning Patches
These patches are suited to people who want to build color gradually rather than chase an instant bronze effect. The instructions call for 4–6 hours on clean, dry skin, with peak color over 1–3 days and application areas spanning face, neck, arms, legs, and body. Compared with the PurevLab strips, this option has similar wear and development guidance but gives less confidence in its duration claim: the description says both 7–12 days and up to 14 days. It also recommends reapplying every 2–5 days, so buyers should expect maintenance if they want to sustain the shade. Plant-based, vegan-friendly, and dye-free are listed as formula claims, but they do not establish water resistance. Showering and friction may affect results, making this a weaker fit for frequent swimmers.
Pros:- Designed for gradual, buildable color without UV exposure
- Lists a 4–6-hour application and 1–3-day color peak
- Can be applied to face, neck, arms, legs, and body
- Formula is described as plant-based, vegan-friendly, and free of artificial dyes
Cons:- Requires wearing patches for 4–6 hours
- Duration information conflicts between 7–12 days and up to 14 days
- Description says showering and friction may affect results; waterproof performance is not established
Best for: People comfortable with a gradual, buildable tan who can follow a several-hour application and reapply as needed
Not ideal for: Frequent swimmers, anyone seeking a precise tan-duration estimate, or buyers who need color on demand
- Application time:4–6 hours
- Color development:Gradual; peak color in 1–3 days
- Claimed tan duration:7–12 days; also claims up to 14 days
- Reapplication:Every 2–5 days
- Application areas:Face, neck, arms, legs, and body
- Formula claims:Plant-based, vegan-friendly, and no artificial dyes
- Skin compatibility:Claimed suitable for most skin types, including sensitive skin
- Waterproof performance:Not specified; description notes showering and friction may affect results
Our verdict“Choose these patches for gradual, adjustable color across multiple body areas, but pass if you need a reliable duration estimate or proven water resistance.”
Hiskin Sunless Natural Glow Tanning Microdarts Patch (2 Count)
Hiskin’s two-patch pack favors portability over broad coverage: its ultra-thin transdermal design is described as comfortable for daily wear and easy to carry, making it a better fit for a targeted application or travel than a full-body routine. The formula is presented as hydrating, odor-free, and suitable for all skin types. Compared with Sunless Natural Glow Tanning Microdart Patches, which supplies 20 pieces, Hiskin is far less suited to repeated or extensive applications; the small count may also mean buying multiple patches for larger areas. The listing does not give a wear duration, color-development schedule, or tan-lasting estimate, so it is harder to plan around than the PurevLab option. Waterproof performance is also unconfirmed, despite the daily-wear positioning.
Pros:- Ultra-thin, lightweight design is presented as portable and comfortable for daily wear
- Hydrating formula is intended to keep skin soft
- Described as odor-free and low-irritation
- Claimed suitable for all skin types
Cons:- Two patches may require supplementation for larger areas or full-body coverage
- No application duration, color timeline, or tan-duration estimate is provided
- Waterproof performance is not specified
Best for: Travelers or users seeking a compact patch for targeted use who value a thin, low-profile design
Not ideal for: People wanting full-body coverage, a multi-use supply, clear color timing, or confirmation that patches withstand water
- Package quantity:2 patches
- Application type:Transdermal self-tanning patch
- Design:Ultra-thin and portable
- Suitable skin types:All skin types, as claimed
- Formula claims:Hydrating, low-irritation, and odor-free
- Wear positioning:Described as comfortable for daily wear
- Color-development timing:Not specified
- Waterproof performance:Not specified
Our verdict“Choose Hiskin for a compact, targeted application, but opt for a larger pack with clearer timing if you want regular or full-body use.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 listings using the details available in their product names and descriptions: patch count and pack structure, stated face or body use, micro-tip or microdart format, and whether the listing suggests a single trial or a larger supply. I also looked for buyer-relevant clarity: a specific use area is more helpful than a broad promise, and a count that supports repeat applications is more practical than a tiny pack for shoppers who already expect regular use.
The ranking favors options with clearer utility and more flexible quantities, rather than assuming that similar names indicate identical formulas or performance. Water resistance cannot be independently compared from the supplied details; where the listings do not state a wear duration, testing method, or care instructions, I treat waterproof wording cautiously. This means the leading choices are strongest for stated pack value and versatility, not verified swimming performance, and the smaller or less-specific listings rank lower for offering less decision-making information.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Selftanning Waterproof Patches
These listings share overlapping sun-free glow and micro-tip terminology, so choosing by name alone can lead to a poor match. I would start with your intended use, how often you plan to apply patches, and what the seller actually explains about wear and water exposure.
Treat “waterproof” as a claim to verify
A waterproof label does not automatically tell you whether a patch can handle a quick rinse, a sweaty workout, or a long swim. Look for specific wear-time guidance and instructions about bathing, exercise, and removal; vague wording leaves the real use case uncertain. A patch that stays attached may still have directions that limit water exposure, so adhesion and tanning performance are separate questions. If the listing does not explain either, avoid making it your only choice for a beach or pool day. For predictable results, follow the package directions and allow any recommended development time before getting wet.
Match the pack to your application plan
Patch count matters most when it reflects how you plan to use the product, not simply which box contains the most pieces. A larger pack can make sense for regular use or more than one body area, while a small count limits waste if you are unsure about fit or skin response. Check whether the listed quantity means individual patches, pairs, or boxes, since multi-box titles can make comparisons confusing. Do not assume that a larger supply is better value if you will use only a few. If you are trying the format for the first time, a modest pack can be a sensible way to learn whether the application method suits you.
Check which areas the directions actually cover
Face, body, and all-over wording is not interchangeable, and product titles may not spell out placement limits. Before applying a patch to the face or a sensitive area, check the label for approved locations and any precautions. A listing that explicitly names face and body provides a useful clue, but the complete directions still take priority. Avoid placing patches near eyes, lips, broken skin, or irritated areas unless the manufacturer specifically permits it. If your main goal is a particular area, choose clear placement instructions over broad claims of universal use.
Do not read micro-tip terminology as a performance guarantee
Micro-tip, microdart, and strip describe the format or product positioning, but the names alone do not reveal ingredient strength, shade depth, or how quickly color develops. Look for the active ingredients, application timing, and expected result in the full product information. If those details are absent, it is hard to compare two similarly named products on likely color outcome. Start with the directions rather than increasing application time or using extra patches to chase a deeper shade. Patch testing is a prudent step when you are unfamiliar with the ingredients or your skin reacts easily.
Plan around development time and skin preparation
Sunless color may depend on when the product is applied and how long it remains in place, so check whether the manufacturer gives a development window before scheduling a shower or workout. Clean, dry skin can help a patch adhere, while lotion, oils, and sweat may interfere with contact. Exfoliating beforehand may help reduce uneven-looking results, but avoid applying a patch to freshly irritated skin. Do not layer multiple patches or repeat applications sooner than the directions allow. A little planning can matter more than choosing the largest box when you want a consistent finish.
Weigh convenience against ingredient transparency
A patch can reduce the mess associated with lotions, yet the format is only convenient if it adheres comfortably and the instructions suit your routine. Check the ingredient list and warnings, especially if you have sensitive skin, allergies, or a history of reactions to adhesives. Compare return or support information if the listing leaves basic usage details unclear. Paying more or choosing a larger bundle does not resolve missing guidance about ingredients or water exposure. When product information is limited, I would favor clear labeling and an easy trial over extra patches.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I swim or shower while wearing self-tanning waterproof patches?
The supplied listings do not provide comparable testing details or a shared water-exposure standard, so I would not assume every patch is safe for swimming or showering. Check the specific package for instructions on bathing, sweating, and how long the patch should remain in place. Water resistance can refer to staying attached and may not guarantee an even tanning result after prolonged soaking. If the directions are silent, avoid using the patch as swimwear or shower protection. Apply it when you can follow the stated wear and development schedule.
Which pack makes the most sense if I have never used a tanning patch?
A smaller pack can limit leftover product while you learn whether the patch shape, adhesive, and instructions work for you. Hiskin’s two-count option is the smallest clearly stated quantity in this lineup, while the seven-piece listings also offer a restrained starting point. Before buying, check the ingredient list, intended application area, and directions for a test application. A low count does not by itself mean a gentler formula, so it is not a substitute for reading warnings or patch-testing as directed. Once you know the format suits you, a larger pack may be more practical.
Should I choose a microdart patch or a strip-style tanning patch?
The product names use terms such as microdart, micro-tip, and strip, but the supplied details do not establish a consistent difference in shade, speed, or wear. I would compare the shape, placement instructions, ingredient disclosure, and application guidance instead of inferring performance from terminology. A format that fits the area comfortably may be easier to use than one with a more technical-sounding name. Check whether the listing explains how to apply and remove it, particularly for curved or sensitive areas. If two products provide equally sparse information, choose based on a manageable pack size rather than a presumed formula advantage.
Are face-and-body tanning patches suitable for every skin type?
A title that says face and body or all skin types does not confirm that a product will suit every person. Ingredients, adhesives, and individual skin sensitivities can affect comfort, and the product directions may still restrict where it can be placed. Read the complete warnings and ingredient list before applying, and follow any patch-test instructions. Do not use patches on broken, irritated, or recently treated skin unless the manufacturer says it is appropriate. If you have a known allergy or a skin condition, ask a qualified clinician before trying a new product.
Is a multi-box bundle a better buy than a single box?
A bundle is useful when you already expect to use the patches regularly or need enough for repeated applications, but it is a poor fit if you are still unsure about the format. In this roundup, PurevLab’s five-box set and other multi-box listings offer more supply, while one-box and low-count choices reduce the commitment. Compare the total number of individual patches, not just the number of boxes, and check whether directions specify single-use application. Larger quantities do not prove longer shelf life or better results. For a first purchase, confirming the instructions and ingredients may matter more than stocking up.
Conclusion
For the best overall choice, I recommend PurevLab Sun-Free Glow Micro-Tip Self-Tanning Patches, 28 Pieces, because its stated count gives regular users more room for repeat applications. The best value-style pick for frequent use is the PurevLab five-box set, provided you have checked the full quantity and know the patch format suits you; the details supplied do not support a price-based value claim. For a premium-style option, I would choose the larger multi-box format that best matches your intended use, rather than assuming any listing has superior materials or verified waterproof performance. Beginners should start with a smaller pack, such as Hiskin’s two-count option, while shoppers seeking broader placement flexibility can look first at the 10-piece face-and-body listing and confirm its directions. If reliable swimming or shower wear is your specific need, choose only after the manufacturer gives clear water-exposure instructions; none of these supplied descriptions establishes that advantage on its own.


















